A More Promising Future for Our Children. In One Act.

This Mother’s Day I went to yoga, took a nap and reflected on a few things. Beyond caring for my son–feeding him, a big squeeze and pat on the back for achievements, nurturing through times of sickness or pain, gently guiding him through his mistakes–I was thinking there’s more I could probably do (oh, and there always will be more). As an “eco.mom”, of course my mind went to this–what kind of world I’m leaving behind. And when I say “world”, I’m not just referring to clean air and water or the beauty and wonders of nature and wildlife. I’m referring to world stability and peace. The availability of quality jobs. What can I do to give my son a better chance of thriving in the future world?

One thing I did today was voice my support of The American Clean Energy and Security Act, which could positively impact our children’s quality of life for years to come. And I hope you will, too.

This one Act has the potential to create millions of new clean energy jobs, save consumers hundreds of billions of dollars in energy costs, enhance America’s energy independence, and cut global warming pollution. In Former VP Al Gore’s testimony before the US House Energy & Commerce Committee, he said “Passage of this legislation will restore America’s leadership of the world and begin, at long last, to solve the climate crisis.”

The Energy and Commerce Committee will complete consideration of this important legislation by Memorial Day—we need as many voices as possible, urging our Representatives to pass the American Clean Energy and Security Act with the strictest energy standards.

For the sake of our children’s future, please consider taking action. Every voice counts!

1. Sign on to support the Democrats’ efforts to tackle global warming by signing the Care2 petition.

2. Call your elected representatives. Find out the name and number through the Capitol Switchboard at 202-224-3121.  When you make the call, use the following script, suggested by Repower America:

“Hi. This is [your name] from [your city, state]. I am calling to urge Representative [fill in the blank with the name of the Representative of your Congressional District]  to support the The American Clean Energy and Security Act. This bill will help create good jobs that can’t be outsourced and increase our supply of clean, free energy. It will revitalize our economy and help solve the climate crisis. That’s why, as a constituent, it is very important to me that my elected officials support the clean energy jobs plan. Thank you.”

Beyond that, give your children extra hugs and kisses, tell them you love them and have a Happy Mother’s Day.

P.S. If you have any other suggestions on how we can make our voice heard with this or other legislation impacting our children’s future, please share them with me here!

Leave a Reply

